List of Initially Selected 20 Cities to be Developed as Smart Cities

Updated: By: No Comments - Leave a Comment Ministry: Ministry of Housing and Urban AffairsBeneficiaries: Everyone,

Indian Central Government has announced the list of 20 cities which will be developed as smart cities under the Smart City program. The government will spend Rs. 50,802 crores for development of selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period.

The government has selected 20 cities initially out of proposal for 97 cities sent by the state governments. The selected smart cities will be equipped with basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

Following is the list of 20 smart cities:

  1. Bhubaneswar
  2. Pune
  3. Jaipur
  4. Surat
  5. Kochi
  6. Ahmedabad
  7. Jabalpur
  8. Vishakapatnam
  9. Sholapur
  10. Davangere
  11. Indore
  12. New Delhi (New Delhi municipal council area)
  13. Coimbatore
  14. Kakinada
  15. Belagavi
  16. Udaipur
  17. Guwahati
  18. Chennai
  19. Ludhiana
  20. Bhopal

In the near future, the government also plans to announce 40 cities to be developed as smart cities.

Related Content

Leave a Comment